Damage Done! 2018 Boston Red Soxs World Series Champions

Damage Done!

This year history was made when the Boston Red Sox, once again, are world series champions for the fourth time since 2004, which broke the curse of 86 years drought of winning. People and critics are saying that this team might be the best ever, out of all the championships that the Red Sox have won. I am not disagreeing with the talent and coaching staff under manager Alex Cora, and all the moves that general manager Dave Dombrowski made last off season. The motto of the entire playoffs was “Do Damage” just like the sweatshirts said that they wore during games, and they sure delivered!

(Photo by Jeff Gross/Getty Images)

Series Recap:

The Los Angeles Dodgers had a tough match up going against the MLB’s best Boston Red Sox, who led all of baseball with 108 wins on the season. I felt pretty confident that Boston would come out on top in the series, but didn’t expect them to be 4-1 series winners. I strongly believed after what LA did a season ago against the Houston Astros (seven games) that we surely would see 6-7 again this year, but that didn’t happen. David Price and Chris Sale dominated the entire series with the starting pitching. The bullpen also stepped up, Joe Kelly, Nathan Eovaldi, Craig Kimbrel in big spots. Steve Pearce was well deserved being the series MVP with his big homers late in games. Cora made all the right moves even in the longest world series game, even though they came up short.

Looking Ahead:

Chris Sale, David Price, and Eduardo Nunez all opt in there contracts already for the 2019 season. Everyone is asking what they should do with Joe Kelly, Nathan Eovaldi, and Craig Kimbrel? I’d say resign what you can not for to much money but hometown discounts. Red Sox don’t need a Bryce Harper caliber player, keep the core you have at this moment. Next off season is huge so keep it at a minimum this season and wait to see a year from now and how it will play out.

Please follow and like us:

2 thoughts on “Damage Done! 2018 Boston Red Soxs World Series Champions”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *